University students nowadays have too much freedom and do not study enough. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that nowadays tertiary education students are neglecting their studies because of having too much freedom. I totally disagree with this view since students should have enough time for personal development and relaxation.

The major reason why university students should have more freedom is that they should have time for personal interests. That is because sometimes they are having too much lessons and don’t have extra time for their hobbies and extra activities. As a result, they are feeling tired and they may start missing classes to handle with their personal issues. For example, it is widely acknowledged that students who have interests in some extra activities, like sports or painting, tend to perform better in studies or they can have a huge impact on university’s social life.

Relaxation is another reason why students must have time for self-determination. Studying too much might be harmful for our brains and can lead to health problems as sometimes we need to refresh our minds. Without having leisure time our brains will work incessantly, resulting in poor immune system. For instance, people who mix their studies and hobbies by allocating dedicated time for study and hobbies usually have better results and they feel themselves better since they’re not stressing the whole day.

To conclude, some people say that university students have too many extra time for other activities so they do not study enough. However, I do not support this assumption since students should have time for personal issues and chill time.