University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities should encourage students to learn a range of other subjects.

It is common for universities nowadays to allow students to concentrate only on major-specific subjects. While some students follow this approach during their academic pursuits, others want to expand their knowledge by learning about subjects not directly aligned with their field of study. In this essay, I will be considering both of these approaches before giving my personal opinion.

There are some apparent benefits to focusing only on one’s qualifications at university. Firstly, it saves students’ time. Simply put, when students need to study less relevant subjects, they might not have sufficient time to fully engage in their chosen fields. This leads to another advantage: a more profound grasp of their selected domain. Those who only focus on subjects directly linked to their major can become an expert in their respective fields, giving them a competitive advantage over other job applicants in the future.

Yet, it’s a fact that boundaries between disciplines are becoming less clear. It means it can only be helpful for today’s specialists to expand their knowledge beyond their specializations. In simpler terms, companies seek candidates who comprehend the industry from a comprehensive perspective. For example, to become an IP (intellectual property) lawyer nowadays requires a deeper understanding of science and technology.

In my opinion, it is important to strike a balance between the two approaches. Students are expected to know their major inside out so they have to delve deep into their major-specific subjects. This, however, does not justify the lack of knowledge in other subjects, especially in a world where various disciplines are interconnected. To excel in their field, students must concentrate on their major and explore subjects that were once considered distant.

In conclusion, within today’s competitive job market, it’s crucial for students to be experts in their chosen field and possess some understanding of other subjects to fulfill modern employers’ demands.