University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities should encourage students to learn a range of other subjects.

Nowadays, everyone should enter a university because there is a need for more study achievements to get a better job. Some individuals think universities should encourage pupils to learn different types of subjects rather than concentrate only on one specific subject. In my opinion, I totally agree with this, as students could develop well-rounded skills and increase their career opportunities.

On the one hand, when a student studies a variety of subjects, he or she can develop more skills and knowledge than one who focuses on one specific subject. When they study different types of subjects, they can improve their critical thinking, teamwork, and their leadership qualities. Therefore, they could fit into their future careers based on job demand. As an example, when an engineer focuses on their engineering subjects while doing some research on business and technology-related subjects, he or she could be more productive when it comes to group projects. Although it is an extra qualification for building their future, universities should encourage students to study more subjects rather than learn only one subject.

Not only that, exposure to different subjects increases career opportunities as well. This provides greater flexibility for students’ future careers. Firstly, students are unsure about their future goals when they enter university. When the university provides more facilities for students, they can study different subjects and then students could identify their passion and could go down that path. For example, initially one student might think about becoming a scientist, while learning different subject paths like business and management, that student may understand he or she is good at management and then could build a future career with that subject. Therefore, I think universities must inspire students to study different subjects.

In conclusion, universities need to encourage students to study different types of subjects to learn different paths that may help to build students’ future careers. In my opinion, universities should provide more subjects that are valuable in the future.