University students often focus on one subject. However, some people think that universities should encourage students to learn a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is considered by some people that universities have to focus on one subject only, while there are others who believe that it is a limitation. Accordingly, students should be motivated to learn other subjects. This essay will argue in favor of the latter and give some merits of this education type.

On the one hand, the purpose of higher education is to give deep knowledge about a certain science that a student chose for his degree. On the other hand, rarely do people realize that the studying path is extremely long, usually accounting for 4 years and more. Therefore, undergraduates are normally bored of learning the same subject during the period. Moreover, the trend of giving up and not finishing the 4-year course has been being monitored for the last few years. It might be also proven by a research conducted by Harvard University in 2013, where one third of all students, who had been focusing on their main subject, dropped out of the whole educational process in the fifth semester. It shows that exhaustion causes the defeat.

Moreover, it would be better for young people to have a broad outlook. However, they spend the biggest part of their everyday life in university concentrating on the specific discipline. As a result, it seems hard for the majority to conduct a discussion which is not connected with their specialization. Subsequently, they feel insecure and not open to new acquaintances, and it is followed by an increase of depression level among students.

To conclude, it is important to mention that exploring a different discipline, not just the main one, is crucial for avoiding dropping out of the education process and mental health issues.