Unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been argued that voluntary community work should be introduced to high school curriculum as a mandatory part. While in some cases the proposal of including compulsory volunteering in secondary secondary schools is not sensible, I largely agree with it.

There are two main reasons why including non-paid social service within the scope of high schools teaching programs may not be effective. One is that unpaid community service should be a choise not an obligation because students may lose ther motivation to help in volunteer work. For instance, a student who prefers academic studies may feel frustrated if they are required to spend time on community service projects instead of focusing on their education. Another rational is that non-paid social services take a time away from academics. High school students already have demanding scedule and adding compulsory volunter work may increase their stress level and reduce time available for preparing to the university entrance exams.

Nevertheless, I am still in favor of including voluntar work at upper schools. First and foremost, volunteer work can, develop responsibility and social skills. These charity-based activities not only help become responsible citizen but also develop teamwork, leadership and communication skills, which are crucial in their future career. Secondly, albeit no less significantly, community works can enhance to enter to the university or job application. Nowadays employers value community service and it will be easy for students to strengthen their resumes, which important to work at well-paid job.

In conclusion, although some might argue argue that including unpaid community service in high schools sniperfluous, I am of the opinion that it makes sense to include it due to its obvious benefits, such as developing responsibility, social skills and will help while applying for job.