Urban planning has been developing rapidly, with many new facilities built. Many major cities are building large public parks and green spaces to improve the quality of life for residents. What are the advantages and disadvantages of creating more green spaces in cities?

City planning has been developing quickly followed by a high number of facilities built. Several great cities are constructing large community parks and green areas to enhance the quality of life for citizens. Although there are some some benefits, I personally believe the drawbacks from this situation are more than the positive impacts.

The development of public facilities like city parks and green spaces might be beneficial for the residents. Firstly, those facilities can be an option for people to spend their leisure time. They can enjoy the high quality air and feel the convenient vibes on those areas. Secondly, those spaces can be new icons for the city. Furthermore, those areas can attract outsiders to come and increase the city’s income.

On the other hand, the construction of those green infrastructures requires a high number of open fields. To begin with, many urbans around the world have no empty space left and even crowded. In addition, it is a bad decision for the government to sacrifice the existing facilities to build wide public parks and green places. Another issue is those facilities may bring serious problems such as massive traffic congestions and unplanned relocations that will affect the quality of life for residents in negative way. Moreover, the maintenance of those green infrastructures also forces to spend a lot of money. It will restrict the budget for other city needs such as overcoming educational issues and building public health facilities.

In conclusion, the drawbacks related to the construction of city parks and green areas are more than the benefits. The government should make a comprehensive preliminary plan before start the project. In addition, they must pay attention on the budget to make it efficient.