Urban sprawl has been a common phenomenon in some big cities in the world. What are the impacts of this trend?

There has been an increase in urban sprawl phenomenon in some big cities in the world. Although it may bring a lot of development opportunities for people, it can bring some effects in these cities. This essay will examine three key impacts of this trend.

Firstly, urban sprawl is one of the common causes of increasing pollution. It leads to rise vehicle quantity, also a main cause of air pollution. Moreover, the higher people live in big cities, the higher discharge of pollutants and exploitation of resources.

Secondly, it can put a strong pressure on infrastructure, such as traffic, medical, and education. For example, uneven population distribution and lack of planning situation require some medical facilities in big cities expand their scale and variety of medical services, make sure that they can supply enough for citizen’s needs.

Finally, developing in urban areas can lead to loss of agricultural land. It affects food production and biodiversity, can make a negative impact on food security and agricultural production.

In conclusion, urban sprawl may be a good opportunity for personal development, but it can bring some negative impact on environment, infrastructure, and agricultural production.