User Doctors in many countries say that people do not do enough physical exercises. What are the causes of this trend? How can the situation be improved?

Lack of physical activity is a plague of our time which appears to be primarily caused by a deficit in time in today’s whirlpool of activities; therefore, providing a wide range of opportunities to take exercise that can be easily incorporated seems to be a necessary solution.

In today’s context, juggling many responsibilities is essential for keeping one’s head above water which leaves little if any time for sport. This is because the acceptable standard of living has increased as never before, forcing people to work overtime in order to make ends meet. Being under this time pressure, people can hardly spare some time to spend with their nearest and dearest, say nothing about taking exercise. To illustrate, more than 50 hours per week are spent in average at the office , which means that, having arrived at home, workers have only 2-3 hours to spend with their family and administer their personal lives.

If being provided with more opportunities and incentives to be physically active, even the busiest people could have a chance to build exercise into their hectic lives. Not only should the government invest into development of sport infrastructure, but also business should incorporate new sport facilities to enable their employees to do sport on site. A prime example is Google where more than a half of workers are engaged in sport by virtue of a wide range of on-site sport activities provided, giving them the opportunity to go to the gym during their lunch time or straight after work.

In conclusion, even though sport and today’s hectic pace of life may seem incompatible, developing various sport complexes to meet requirements of ever-busy people can resolve this issue in the long run.