Vehicle technology is advancing rapidly and cars that drive themselves have already been developed. In the near future, most people will use driverless cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Self driving cars have been storming the vehicle industry due the rise of advanced technology. Driverless cars will be prominent in the near future replacing manual cars. I believe that people would most likely prefer manual cars over autonomous ones.

The reason why people would prefer to use a drivable car is mostly due to safety concerns. Since we have the controls of the vehicle in our hands, it is more safe and reliable than an artificially intelligent robot which is programmed to drive. For example: recently a man was met with an unfortunate accident due to the censors malfunction as he let the vehicle in autonomous mode. This is a case of people lives being in danger due to driverless cars.

Furthermore, most of the self driving car available in the market are now electric. The batteries used in these vehicles; while manufacturing release huge amounts of carbon into the atmosphere which is a major cause of global warming. Another important benefit of using a manual car is that it allows our body to function simultaneously keeping our brain healthy for example: as we drive, we have to focus on the road ahead while looking at the mirrors and coordinate our leg and arm muscle to control the vehicle, this improves our ability to multitask. Manual cars save more time since we drive it and speed is not a constant, this is another important factor we look upon.

in conclusion, people will always tend to drive manual cars even though the driverless car is available due to the reliability and advantages they pose.