Volunteer work organised by middle schools brings more benefits than problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, voluntary work is becoming more and more common in school, even becomes an indispensable requirement of graduation. In my perspectives, volunteer work organized by middle schools brings both benefits and problems.

It is conceivable to a certain degree that promoting voluntary work in middle school has its positive effect on educational aspects and social aspects. From educational aspects, students can improve their morality by participating voluntary work. When they offering a helping hand in the nursing home, or giving a vivid and vigorous lesson to children, all these activities they participate in person immerse them in love and kindness and arise their awareness of helping others spontaneously. Realizing that making contributions to society is the treasurable lesson in the middle school. As for society, with more people involving in voluntary work, government can save some money on labor resource respectively. What’s more, the atmosphere of helping others once forms renders society more harmonious and stable.

Nevertheless, there are several concerns of middle school students taking part in volunteer work. First and foremost, academic performance is the priority of middle school students, which plays an important role in getting admission of colleges and universities. Spending too much time on voluntary work may divert their attention and limited energy from study. What’s more, some school set voluntary work as the basis of graduation, which changes voluntary work into compulsory work. Force won’t arise students’ preference of voluntary work, but hate and unwillingness. In addition, compulsory work leads to transaction of work certification. For the sake of profit, some organizations may sell voluntary work certification to students who don’t do volunteer work, which have adverse impacts on society.

To sum up everything mentioned above, volunteer work plays a role in morality education and social contribution. However, inappropriate institutions and volume of the work may lead to negative effects on individual study and social order.