Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

Today, more than one-third of the world’s water supply is tainted by pollution and waste. Mass production from industrial businesses and the agricultural sector, are known to produce the greatest amount of sludge and chemical waste such as pesticides. This waste is often released into nearby streams and rivers, which will eventually harm aquatic life, and cause adverse effects on the quality of the environment. Governments could target and place sanctions on institutes and organisations that are found to generate major waste into waterways. This would result in companies becoming more mindful of their waste management, and lead to a reduction in water pollution.

Moreover, every country around the globe is a culprit to another major cause of water pollution. Plastic is the most produced material today, with approximately 400 million tonnes of plastic being produced annually. Plastic is a highly versatile material with a wide range of uses and benefits; however, a major downside to the plastic industry is that discarded plastic often ends up in waterways, and eventually in oceans. Once again, it is evident from the amount of news covered on plastic waste everyday, that plastic can harm marine life and disrupt ecosystems. Furthermore, because plastic is not fully degradable, the action of the water from the ocean and UV rays, can break down the plastic into microplastics. These tiny pellets can cause a phenomena called bioaccumulation, which can cause hormonal imbalance in animals which ingest the pellets. Over time, these microplastics will accumulate in our bodies as we consume seafood.

A promising solution to combat plastic pollution is promoting recycling and the reuse of plastics. Consumers should be informed about the importance of recycling plastic and be encouraged to adhere to recycling regulations. Governments could offer incentives to citizens. For instance, in Germany, plastic bottles are often bought back from the consumers via vending machines where a certain amount of money is offered back to people per bottle inserted. Additionally, major companies such as Coca-Cola have the responsibility to protect the environment as their products end up as plastic waste the most.

In conclusion, major corporations and agriculture are the main culprits of water pollution. However, the effects of the harm done to the environment can be reversed by cleaning up waterways and reducing plastic usage.