Water pollution has been an increasing problem over the last few decades. What causes water pollution? How can we prevent this problem?

Nowadays, pollution rate is the biggest concern in many states, such as water pollution. This has taken a huge amount of attention from many countries which have to provide clean water to their society. According to that, it is mainly caused by a lack of social awareness, and to address this problem, the government’s intervention is required.

To commence, water pollution may occur because of many factors, but the most precise factor is social awareness-deficiency. Many societies in some countries have a bad behavior, which is throwing a tremendous amount of trash in water sources. This behavior can pollute the water cycle and it can bring some huge effects such as leading to floods and clean water deficiency.

Furthermore, this phenomenon is compounded by certain irresponsible establishments, which cannot manage their waste properly and throw it to the water sources of societies’ settlements. For instance, Indonesia has many cases of water pollution, which is so harmful to the society, and it is caused by a lack of social awareness. Therefore, social awareness has a big role in this phenomenon.

To address this issue, the government can take several actions to mitigate this problem. Firstly, the government has to increase social-awareness among society. This can be released by educating them through social campaigns. As an example, this way has been applied by the Indonesian government, and it can reduce the water pollution rate in certain areas. In addition, the government can make some regulation by creating a policy that those who do not care for their vicinity will be punished. Thus, the government’s mitigation is needed.

To conclude, two possible problems which are caused by throwing litter in water sources and how irresponsible enterprises manage their waste, which can be solved by government regulations, such as conducting social campaigns or punishing people who do not care for their areas.