We are producing more and more garbage these days....what do you think are the reasons and what solutions can you suggest.

In the modern era, we are producing increasing amounts of waste day by day. This essay will discuss the reasons for such high waste production and the possible solutions to overcome this issue.

The reasons for the large volume of waste production are manifold. Firstly, the exponential population growth has led to an increase in the consumption of goods as well. The number of people is directly proportional to the waste they generate. Secondly, the rate of goods production has outpaced the rate of disposal, resulting in huge stockpiles of garbage. People often lack civic awareness and dispose of waste indiscriminately. Finally, the lack of use of recyclable materials like paper, wood, metal, etc., and the lack of knowledge on how to recycle items contribute to the ever-increasing surplus of waste.

There are, however, several solutions to address these problems. We should aim to reduce the use of items such as polythene, plastic, etc., to minimize waste generation. Factories should strive to produce biodegradable products that can easily decompose in the soil. Furthermore, governments should set up proper waste collection points, and products should be disposed of through incineration instead of being dumped in open spaces. Current studies indicate that incineration results in only 4% of the total waste remaining, which is ten times less than disposal by other means. Additionally, public awareness and encouragement of recycling practices should be promoted.

In conclusion, the volume of waste is increasing daily due to high production rates, inadequate waste disposal systems, and a decline in recycling efforts. Nevertheless, proper disposal of unusable materials and the introduction of recyclable items can help alleviate this environmental issue.