we can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from epople whose views contradicts our own; disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning. to what extent do you agree or disagree

Finding a way to learn effectively remains a very vague concept. It is argued that students can acquire far more knowledge from their like-minded counterparts rather than from the opposite, as a clash of opinions breeds stress and hampers their learning process. I strongly disagree with the given idea, considering that learners can enhance their reasoning skills through frequent arguments, and they can discover new aspects of the problems and where they might be wrong.

Firstly, learners are able to work on their argumentative skills. This is because when there are conflicts between their viewpoints, they usually attempt to prove themselves right by giving reasons why their answers are valid. Doing this calls for a great deal of authority on reasoning skills in order to persuade the other parties or render their work fathomable. As a result, the more they are exposed to opposition in opinions, the more they can practice their argumentative ability, which serves as a powerful tool, facilitating them in the future, especially when it comes to bringing their partners around. To exemplify this point, in a significant portion of research where students were put to study with people who have different points of view, the results showed that this group’s performance far outshone that of those who studied with like-minded people, in terms of reasoning skills.

Another reason why I believe students gain more knowledge from those with opposite way of thinking is that they can figure out where they made mistakes at the end of the debates. Human is intrinsically imperfect, so having different answers to a specific problem and debating about it is a good way of realizing their faults. Disagreement necessitates confrontation of a person’s belief, prompting a reevaluation of their established assumptions. When doing a math problem, for instance, students make mistakes from time to time. As a consequence, /this would trigger the action in which they look back at their work. Not only does this help them to improve the precision of their performance, but also acts as a reminder that they should consider every aspect in a situation before doing anything.

In conclusion, i firmly believe that exposure to complex challenges offered by opposite views is a better way for people to learn. This is because it facilitates the enhancement of their argumentative skills and prompting reconsideration of their opinions.