We have become a throw-away society, preferring to buy new products rather than repairing the existing items. What do you think are the reasons? How can this trend be reversed?

Nowadays, whilst it is not common to try to extend the life of appliances, many people prefer purchasing replacements. I assume that cutting-edge technology encourages this tendency direction, and state involvement can be the panacea for that.

To embark on, one of the reasons why some societies opt not to repair devices is due to the influence of emerging technology. In other words, when evolutions in technology are rapid, the impulse to own new gadgets devices compels consumers to continually purchase new items. An eminent example of this is mobile phones which have been purchased on impulse in the last decade as new features are continuously released. Hence, what can be said is that modern technology allows the mass production of many devices at a lower cost.

Nevertheless, taxes imposed on obtaining new items can mitigate consumerism, but this is not in favor of impulse buyers. This means that if the authorities levy taxes on new purchases, the government will financially penalize those who race to acquire the latest model. For example, a survey that some economists in Egypt conducted revealed that a myriad of people resort to mending their mobiles rather than buying new ones due to the high taxes on new devices. Therefore, not only can heavy taxation serve the repair shops, but it also encourages users to be satisfied with their existing technology.

In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that when altering the attitude towards overconsumption, compulsive purchasing can be reduced. Accordingly, it is believed that consumers are manipulated by transnational companies that utilize modern technology.