We have become a throw-away society, preferring to buy new products rather than repairing the existing items. What do you think are the reasons? How can this trend be reversed?

Over the past few decades, societies have witnessed a significant increase in the disposal of reusable items, leading to a rise in consumerism. In this essay, we will delve into the root causes of this escalating trend and suggest some potential solutions to address this issue.

When considering throwaway societies, one of the most driving factors that tempts individuals to buy unnecessary items is the ubiquitous presence of advertising. Furthermore, the availability of and accessibility to a wide range of new products, such as high-tech gadgets or the latest fashionable clothes, at low or reasonable prices, in comparison with the repair or maintenance costs of unfunctional products, are major contributors to encouraging people to squander their money on new items.

It is imperative that both individuals and governments take bold steps to tackle this upward trend. The imposition of higher taxes on new products and a considerable increase in their prices, along with tighter control of advertising, can be considered short-term solutions to discourage individuals from disposing. More importantly, though, there is a need for a fundamental change in the public attitude towards consumption and recycling. To illustrate, by running educational campaigns to raise individuals’ awareness of the negative impacts of waste disposal and the positive effects of recycling and reusing existing items on the environment, we can foster a more conservative culture in the long term.

In conclusion, contemporary societies are experiencing excessive disposal of reusable materials, due to widespread advertising and a “keeping up with the Joneses” syndrome. Both long- and short-term solutions, such as high taxation and educational programs, should be implemented to mitigate the adverse impacts of this global issue.