Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, more people are being invited to the weddings and the organizers spending much money than in the past. It is evident that it has some own reasons. However, I assume that it is a negative development for each country.

On the one hand, there are some reasons for why weddings are getting bigger and expensive. The main one is that the competition among some individuals. If one person has a wedding properly, another one will try to plan his/her wedding better than them. As a result, they spend more money and invite more people and this loop will happen again with another person. If, in contrast, they do it worse than the others, they think their reputation will decrease.

However, it does not mean that it is a good development. People buy many unnecessary things for their weddings, and it leads to a big extravagance. After the weddings, they throw many foods that remained extra because no one eats them. In my opinion, these moneys should spend for needy persons. Instead, they are just wasting their money for one-daily entertainment. For example, last month, my neighbor had a wedding, and he invited more than 200 people. After the end of the wedding, they throw foods in more than 3 bins of rubbish. When calculated the amount of thrown things, they realized that almost 500 dollars was just wasted.

In conclusion, I would find the idea of having bigger wedding is not sensible. Instead of copying from others, they need to think more dipper, and do the best thing that should do.