Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, there is a growing discourse surrounding the extent to which weddings are gradually becoming more majestic and costly. While I accept that this type of formal event can stem from many causes that play a vital role in each person’s life, I argue that it can have several harmful effects on organizers.

On one side of the argument, there are some reasons why individuals pay more attention to celebrating pleasant weddings with extravagant spending. Perhaps one of these is that initially investing in organizing a massive wedding can be a way to manifest people’s wealth because of the desperate need to boast about one’s opulence. The practice can be explained by the pride people may take when others express great admiration towards their exclusive possessions. Additionally, this can enhance their social standing since a family’s social standing tends to depend on how they organize their children’s weddings, so there would be an increasing number of families attempting to set up weddings that are as magnificent as possible. For instance, affluent families tend to set up grand and splendid weddings for their children or their native, inviting faces of high status in society to come to the party. Therefore, not only show off their massive properties but also receive the respect of most of the participants in the events, which offer opportunities to have a social standing.

While celebrating weddings is more special, this can lead to numerous negative trends for those who organize. To show their affluence nowadays, many families enter into rivalry to show who has more properties which is an unnecessary competition in extravagant spending. Therefore, forcing them to spend immoderate amounts of money on sumptuous celebrations such as recreational activities, food, and decorations, which possibly results in the most detrimental consequence is indebtedness. Furthermore, tremendous resources such as food and clothes would be wasted at the end of the parties since attendances are only enjoying the weddings instead of these resources since most of them think that the food is not prepared properly and tasty, which creates a massive number of leftovers after the events ended.

In conclusion, although the fact that weddings are getting bigger and more expensive can result from many factors, they can be detrimental for organizers. To achieve the best outcomes, people should have a perception of spending a reasonable amount of money on weddings and constructing friendly relationships with others instead of getting into rivalry to show the elevation of their wealth and social standing