Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in many countries, wedding parties are becoming more sumptuous ending up with an enormous cost due to many social aspects and reasons. In my opinion this could be a negative development.

To begin with, in the contemporary era, the advent of modern technology particularly social media has altered the people’s lives as well as ceremonies. In fact, social platforms allowed individuals to publish and share their events easily in the virtual worlds. For example, by installing Instagram people can share their feelings and moments through photos or videos and gain views. This phenomenon could lead people to feel like they are in a competition and have to do something bigger and more significant to not only gain more views but also others attentions. Thus, when it comes to wedding which is one of the most important events throughout the life, they do not want to feel felt behind.

There are several negative consequences arising from this phenomenon. Firstly, there would be many wastes specially food waste being produced in large ceremonies like weddings. Meanwhile, in many poor countries there exist many individuals who died due to lack of food and this amount of food was sufficient for them. Secondly, this luxury weddings can leave a heavy burden on the both groom and bride and accordingly their parents. Furthermore, this can lead to increasing the attitude that only those who could afford throwing expensive and big wedding parties could marry. Therefore, this attitude could discourage many young individuals to get married.

In conclusion, the demand for holding expensive weddings derives mostly from the competitive atmosphere in social media which could bring about many negative repercussions in society.