Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Over the last few years, the scale and opulence of marriages in several countries have significantly risen, and this is caused by the desire to have a luxurious event with people’s increasing economic opportunities. In my opinion, this trend has more advantages than negative aspects.

The main driver of this trend is the once-in-a-lifetime nature of the event, which can lead individuals to spend a large amount of money to ensure an unforgettable event. They do it so that they can surpass their previous emotional experiences. As a consequence of this, people now tend to spare no expense on weddings. Furthermore, increased disposable income worldwide has facilitated this trend. As long as the standard of living is much better in modern life, many allocate money towards luxurious celebrations and other entertainment. Take the statistics conducted by Nicolas McGuire’s as an illustration. When the scientists asked strangers why they would like to have wealthier weddings, people replied that they wanted them due to their improved economic positions.

On the other hand, I think this tendency seems to be beneficial for some sound reasons. The main argument is the socialization created by this trend. Having such a memorable event can foster a sense of community and bring people together. Consequently, this encourages the emergence of strong friendships between the couples’ parents. For instance, according to statistics, 11% of couples who had significant weddings are happier than others and have a lower risk of divorce. Due to the facts I mentioned above, considering that this tendency is positive is likely to be more reasonable.

To conclude, while the reason why weddings are becoming so lavish is the desire of having significant celebrations coupled with improved financial conditions, it can boost socialization.