What are advantages and disadvantages of living your country to live and study at abroad?

In the age of globalization, there is an increasing rate of people leaving their country to live and study abroad. There definitely are some pros and cons in doing this and I will explain this in this essay.

Firstly, one of the greatest benefits that moving to another country can bring to an individual is expanding their knowledge. Moving to a new country means you need to adapt to a whole new, different culture, food, lifestyle or even different time zone and weather. Being in an unfamiliar surrounding can be quite a shock at first; however, this is also an interesting part of leaving your country, a chance to augment your knowledge on culture and society. Moreover, living or studying abroad can make you have better career prospects. Being able to adjust to a new environment requires from us a lot of necessary traits in work such as confidence, positiveness, independence. Having these traits can be an advantage when you apply for a job.

On the other hand, living and studying abroad can have some setbacks. Living in a country without your friends and family or your favourite food from your home will make you feel homesick. You can get really depressed and lonely from missing your friends and your family. If this state continues for a long time, your life can be affected both mentally and physically. In addition, learning the language of the country you live in can be quite a challenge for a lot of people. Some people leave their country only knowing English can have a lot of difficulties surpassing the language barrier, making new friends if they decided to study in a country where English is not the main language. This can deepen the homesick and depressing feelings.

In conclusion, changing your usual life is always a big challenge; however, it depends on the people who experience this. Some might take this as a grain of salt, while others might not be able to overcome these disadvantages. Thus, whether leaving your country to study and integrate into a new country is worth it or not depends on the person who chooses this path.