What are advantages and disadvantages of living your country to live and study at abroad?

In recent decades, there has been an upward trend in leaving one’s hometown and spending at least some years abroad. In fact, a large number of people are choosing to leave their motherland with the intention of pursuing their studies and living in a completely new country. However, there are both pros and cons to this significant decision. In this essay, I will examine both sides and specify some advantages and disadvantages of immigrating to a new land.

One of the positive aspects is that we can get acquainted with top-notch education systems. To put it simply, studying in top universities can broaden our horizons and enhance our knowledge in our desired field of study. After completing our program, we can return to our city and exploit whatever we have learned in our country. For instance, according to recent statistics, 85% of persons working in high-paid companies in their home country have graduated from brilliant international universities. Another perk of living in a different place is acquiring a new language. In this day and age, being bilingual can benefit us in many ways, especially if we are working in a field where updating our knowledge every single day is a necessity. Not only does learning a language like English assist us in securing our goals, but it also helps us have access to a vast majority of databases.

On the other hand, living overseas has not been without its problems. Adaptation to a totally different culture and lifestyle is one of the obvious drawbacks many people struggle with when entering a new country. For some people, immigration tends to be a test of strength. In other words, if someone comes from a far richer culture, adjustment can be the toughest thing in his or her life, especially if they are in their forties or above. A recent research has indicated that people who are aged forty or older have difficulty fitting into a new culture. As a result, they might decide to return to their city and start over, although they have lost both time and money. Another weak point is the high cost of living. Generally speaking, in the initial years, finding a suitable job with reasonable wages might be a hard task. Therefore, newcomers might find it tough to make ends meet.

To sum up, living in another country can have both its advantages and disadvantages. Graduating from excellent universities and learning a different language are the benefits, while the trouble of adaptation and insufficient salaries are the major difficulties. In my view, living overseas, if one can adjust oneself to a new lifestyle, can be the better choice one can make.