What are the pros and cons for children of watching TV?

Nowadays, the extended hours which younger generation are spending in front of the TV are dramatically increasing. While there are some obvious advantages of TV shows, it can also be very harmful for children to spend too much time watching them. This essay will look at some pros and cons that TV offers.

First of all, there are many ways in which children can benefit from watching television. There are numerous educational and entertainment shows that TV offers. Not only a child can learn a lot about their environment and gain knowledge on various topics through them, but it is also a great way to spend your leisure time with benefits. On top of that, TV shows help youngsters broaden their horizons, explore the world and learn about different cultures while just sitting at home. National Geographic and other similar channels are a great example of such shows.

Turning to the other side of the argument, excessive watching of TV can brought a lot of negative consequences for children, if not controlled. Not all content on TV is equally beneficial, some shows can lack educational or any other value, or even be harmful and affect youngster’s way of thinking. As people in such young age are really vulnerable and tend to believe everything they see, it is extremelly crucial for parents and adults to make sure that their children consume the right content and are not being influenced by propagandas on television. Another drawback of watching TV is that it has negative effects on child’s health and overall well-being and can lead to a sedentary lifestyle. Childhood is the most suitable time for children to lead an active way of life, play different activities with their peers and learn about their environment through various real-life experiences. Being dependent on virtual world and spend too much time in front of TV can result in future health problems and various deseases, and also lack chilren to have enugh experience in long-term perspective. So it is also important to maintain a healthy balance between watching television and doing other activities, such as playing and studying.

In conclusion, while there many ways in which children can benefit from watching TV, like chance to gain knowledge on various topics and explore the world, there also several drawbacks that need urgent attention from parents, such as inappropriate content and sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, it is extremely crucial for adults to control screen time of their off-springs and help them find a balanced approach for both television and real life.