What is a challenge in your community, country, or the ASEAN region that you are passionate about addressing? How will participating in the YSEALI Academic Fellows Program help you to address it?

Ethnic conflicts have been ongoing in Myanmar since its independence. They impact negatively on peace and economic development. Ethnicity other than Burmese faced systematic discrimination. Moreover, military dominance and Burmanization process have caused human rights violations and the loss of cultural identities. After the military coup in 2021, the situation got even worse, causing thousands of casualties and millions being displaced. This makes me passionate about solving ethnic conflicts through ethnic reconciliation and governance reforms.

Through the YSEALI program, I will be equipped with the required knowledge related to good and effective governance and public policy. This will be a tool to address the ethnic issues in Myanmar. Through the study of successful peacebuilding models and the democratization process, I aim to understand how strong institutions and inclusive governance can foster peace, justice, and stability, which supports the idea of SDG 16. My experience in ethnic education and community support has strengthened my belief that the keys to the solution would be federalism, democratization, and negotiation. I will learn how the Federal system operates in United States. I also hope to explore how public administration in post-conflict rehabilitation can help to rebuild community while ensuring stability.

With the insights I gain from the program, I will work towards a Federated Democratic Union where diversity is embraced and all citizens are represented. I am dedicated to taking leadership roles in future state-building and will contribute to peacebuilding and governance reforms to ensure peace, democracy, and sustainable development.