What is more important for being an effective leader of a business – excellent communication skills or a strong technical background in a particular industry?

There are continually discussions about properties that a genuine leader (businessman) ought to have to succeed and the most popular qualities are communication skills and deep knowledge in a certain domain. This essay will consider why both these skills/abilities are crucial to become/be a good entrepreneur and why any of them cannot be neglected.

On the one hand, it is impossible to make a sustainable firm without having sufficient communication skills for the following reasons. To begin with, owners of corporations constantly have important appointments and negotiations with powerful people and they don’t have any permits on a failure. For instance, if the dialog concerns receiving pivotal resources from investments, the businessman should be convincing to acquire them. Furthermore, the fact that the owner is a leader who encourages employees to work harder cannot be ignored. This means that entrepreneur’s actions and words straightly affect workers mind and, hence total result.

On the other hand, there are hardly few cases when a successful company was established and managed by a person without competence and adequate comprehension in his niche. This conclusion derives from the several causes as following. Firstly, the thing that differentiate businessmen from common people is an idea which they try to sell. In other words, they must find a global (or more than just private) problem in any domain and resolve it. Therefore, owners should have a deep awareness of the problem and strong technical background. The second reason is that entrepreneurs with a lack of fundamental knowledge in their field could be merely tricked by others. For example, fake reports might be provided and their impossibility seems obvious to people having respective background, but not to a junior.

To sum up, it is not possible to create a real enterprise without being communicative and having deep comprehension in a corresponding domain. Therefore both properties are vitally necessary to succeed.