What is taught is what is learned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the content taught in educational settings directly impacts what students learn. While some believe that there is a strong correlation between teaching and learning, I partly agree with this notion as other factors also play a crucial role in determining the breadth and depth of knowledge acquired by students.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some opt for the idea that the knowledge which is taught to learners is vital. In fact, teachers play a crucial role in transferring useful lessons to students. Many learners need teachers to help them to perceive and have a deep understanding about some new information that is abstract or complex to understand, which they do not have adequate ability to acquire completely. For instance, the number of students who want to achieve an IELTS score will need support from academic teachers who have qualifications in teaching English. As a result, learners might need monitors to instruct and guide them to obtain new knowledge.

On the other hand, I strongly contend that instinct motivation would be an essential factor for students. This is because not every knowledge that is taught in schools is interesting enough to foster learners motivation. Therefore, students can obtain new knowledge by themselves, enabling their creativity and ability to explore any areas of fields which they have passion for. For example, students can learn English not only at educational institutions but also through social media platforms such as Youtube or Facebook which have visual videos and attractive contents, encouraging their curiosity and interest to learn English.

In conclusion, while the teaching content undoubtedly plays a significant role in what students learn, it is only one piece of the puzzle. Factors such as individual differences, motivation, and external influences must also be taken into account when analyzing the dynamics of teaching and learning.