When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this modern world, it is often said that the traditional skills and ways of life are likely to disappear, since it will get replaced by technology. This essay will discuss whether preserving the traditional skills are pointless, or whether there are some skills that need to be preserved.

Technology is indeed one of the best problem-solving methods for today’s modern era that has many complicated problems. This is because technology may replace many traditional ways when it comes to solution for modern problems. For example, instead of using manpower as their sales person, many companies are often shifting into a “business to business” model rather than “business to customer” to cope with today’s situation, making companies more efficient in terms of their human cost structure.

On the other hand, the use of traditional skills and ways are also inevitable when discussing individual competencies. That is why, I strongly disagree that the traditional skills are pointless to preserve. There are still many of traditional skills that need to be honed for an individual in order to survive and compete. For instance, the majority of c-level or top tier management in companies comes from sales and marketing background. It shows that sales and marketing skills such as negotiation skills are also needed for individuals to battle modern difficulty.

In conclusion, technology is the best way for a country to become well developed, but preserving and honing some traditional skills are also needed since it is essential for individuals to grow their skills. In my opinion, people should aim to combine their technology aspects with some traditional skills and ways to achieve a better future.