When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions regarding the functions of building rather than its exterior appearance. Personally, I agree with this statement and I think that the use of building is of more importance than its outward look.

On the one hand, in this modern era, various buildings are constructed with unique designs and magnificent looking structure, which can bring a wide variety of benefits. Firstly, it can raise the value of buildings, especially commercial sectors in it such as shopping centres, as it looks more attractive. A unique design can contribute to an aesthetic appearance to the city. Furthermore, this enhances the beauty of a place, and eventually attract more tourists.

On the other hand, in my opinion, while designing the building the purpose of its construction is the main consideration. There are variety of different types of buildings such as hospitals, schools and shopping centres. Each one has its own purpose, and accordingly it should be designed. For instance, hospitals and shopping centres are build with large parking areas, focusing to enhance the inner working space, whereas there is no need of parking slot in schools. In addition, people use a particular place because of what it offers inside, not merely because of what it looks from the outside.

In conclusion, I believe that though designing is an important part during construction, the main focus should be on its usage and what does it offer from inside. Moreover, there should be a strike balance between the interior facilities and outward appearance of the building.