When new cities are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping malls. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

While engineers make urban schemes for to-be constructed towns, it is argued that they should prioritise installing natural parks and sports ammenities instead of shopping centres. I view this trend as an opportunity to tackle existing issues in the society and go along with making new cities more relaxing and active spaces for residents.

The way a city is designed has a huge impact on residents’ lifestyle choices, Humans tend to choose to spend their leisure time on widely-available places. Thus, a town offering its locals more opportunities for healthy activities like doing sports, resting the nature or enjoying park entertainment, is likely to see growth in the portion of population committed to healthy lifestyle. As a result, trending health problems like depression, diabets and obesity associated with the lack of physical activity would be solved thanks to mentioned initiatives. Additionally, people wouldn’t visit shopping areas to buy unnecessary items as frequently by chance, if they exist only in few numbers to meet the daily needs of customers. In this way, town councils automatically makes the city a less favourable place for consumerism, therefore, promoting environmentally friendly behaviour among the local population.

Furthermore, introduction of entertainment parks and sports clubs would contribute to the beauty and fame of the area. Popularity of amusement parks in a city makes it much greener and colorful which results in more tourists visiting the area from distant places. Thanks to the frequent visitors, the city’s economy would skyrocket creating more job oppotunities for the youth. Lastly, creation of sports clubs is extremely important factor in fighting against crime and violence, as the cities with least record of crime are the ones with more sports facilities provided for the young generation.

In conclusion, I totally side with the idea of superior number of sports places and public parks rather than shopping malls in a city, as I truly believe the trend would foster economic growth and tackle consumerism and crime promoting a happier and healthier life among young and old equally.