When people live in a foreign country, they should follow local traditions and customs. Do you agree or not?

In our increasingly interconnected world, the question of whether individuals living in a foreign country should adhere to local traditions and customs is a matter of ongoing discussion. Although assimilation to a local culture can make it easier to blend with locals, but there is the other side of the situation.

I don’t agree with the statement that people living in a foreign country should follow local traditions, I think that individuals should retain the autonomy to decide the degree of their cultural assimilation, due to a various reasons. First of them being the freedom of choice. Freedom of choice should be prioritized when it comes to the topics like these, otherwise it is a human rights violation.

The second reason why enforcement should not be the way to go is that cultural difference may vary so much that it would be almost impossible and even offensive to follow them. For example, forcing people of different faiths to participate in ceremonies or observe holy days that contradict their beliefs can be both impractical and disrespectful.

In conclusion, I think that each person has right to navigate the balance between cultural assimilation and the preservation of individual identity, prioritize personal freedom and cultural sensitivity.