When you learn a foreign language, all four skills(listening,reading,speaking,writing) are equally important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s competitive world, being multilingual is an admirable object, especially as the world evolves so rapidly. Learning a new language which differs from mother-tongue presents numerous challenges in the initial stages, having said that, acquiring a second language can be considered as a powerful asset for personal and professional growth.

One essential aspect of learning a foreign language is the ability to communicate effectively, in which listening and speaking skills play a pivotal role. A good listener reflects flexibility when talking, specifically a timely and accurate verbal response, indicating by smoothing interaction and minimizing misunderstandings. In addition, mispronunciation significantly impedes others’ understanding and easily causes confusion, which affects the quality of a conversation. Take the case of professional or academic settings as a typical example for misstatement, if a speaker misuses or omits key terms, this could lead to misconstruction, interrupted the discussion and impacted on making decisions. Besides, listening can enhance speaking skill by exposing learners to proper pronunciations and natural speech patterns, helping them internalize correct intonation and better accent.

Since communicating is an integral part in daily life, reading comprehension, analytical, and critical thinking skills also play a crucial role that individuals must equip themselves with, while simultaneously assessing a language learner’s proficiency. Reading expands vocabulary and reinforces grammar, which are important for reshaping sentence structures in writing. In many real-world circumstances, such as email, business documents, formal contracts, the information exchange is heavily dependent on written communication. To reach upper-level, learners must skillfully integrate these modules across different contexts, ensuring accuracy and clarity in both personal and professional interactions. Just as verbal communication lacking key points can result in misunderstandings, presentations and written documents with breakdowns in either step could result in the collapse of literal communication.

It is reasonable to assert that it is impossible to underestimate the role of any skill, as neglecting one of the four can limit overall language ability. Effective communication practices include actively listening and speaking, which allows learners to engage in dialogue and articulate their thoughts properly. Meanwhile, the ability to read and write is essential for academic and career success. As a result, language learners should broaden understanding and values of languages and equally strive to develop all four skills, as each plays a vital and unique function.