While some people think the function of music is to reduce stress, others believe that it is a good way of bringing people of different cultures together. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are multiple perspectives on music’s function. While some claim that it is a way to reduce stress, others opt for music as the means to bond people coming from various cultural backgrounds. Although music may play a vital role in recreational aims, bridging the cultural gap is more considerable.

To begin with, listening to music is a common method for people to relax after work or study. For instance, genres like jazz, R&B, and soul might alleviate one’s down mood due to their catchy tunes and groovy melodies. This allows listeners to immerse themselves in the musical atmosphere and blur their tension and fatigue in real life. As a result, the affection of music on emotional well-being is appreciable. Many listeners boost their aspirations and efficiency in work or study. Furthermore, musical exposure could lower the hysterical rise in cortisol levels, which is intimately connected with the stress hormone that may cause heart palpitations, sweating, and tension when facing a crisis. For that reason, musical therapy is one of the ways to appease the body’s response to the culmination of stressful experiences. Hence, a plethora of counselors treat their clients with music, in conjunction with other treatments, to calm their nerves and let them open up in the conversation to confide all of their inhibited emotions to counselors.

On the other hand, those who espouse the view that music could transcend linguistic boundaries facilitate intercultural dialogue and understanding. First and foremost, several genres or songs of the contemporary music landscape are composed by authors from all around the world. They are able to reflect the diverse cultural societies, promoting their country’s identities. Moreover, the lyrics may convey sympathy for others’ customs, which reinforces the friendship among nationalities and country bonds. For example, the song “Kid Mak” is a Thailand movie soundtrack with the harmony of a dozen nations and territories creating lovely and alluring performances regardless of language barriers, ethnicity, or skin color. The ability of music to connect individuals from diverse backgrounds highlights its profound impact on social harmony. Ultimately, music stands as a testament to humanity’s shared experiences, serving as both a balm for the soul and a catalyst for cultural unity.

In conclusion, while the stress-relieving properties of music certainly bear significance, I maintain that its role in promoting cultural cohesion is of equal, if not greater, importance.