WHILE SOME SCHOOL SYSTEMS REQUIRE STUDENTS TO CONCENTRATE ON CERTAIN SUBJECTS IN HIGH SCHOOL, OTHERS ALLOW STUDENTS TO STUDY A VARIETY OF SUBJECTS UNTIL THEY LEAVE SCHOOL. DISCUSS BOTH SYSTEMS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

It is an undeniable fact that school organizations can significantly influence the knowledge and understanding of students. Despite the broad understanding learners can gain from studying plenty of subjects, I firmly believe that students should focus on specific subjects for thorough knowledge.

On the one hand, proponents of a curriculum that includes various subjects can argue that this approach can foster a better foundation for students in the future. When students study a diverse range of subjects, they can acquire knowledge across distinct domains. Consequently, they are likely to possess a comprehensive understanding of the world. They can also acquire and develop essential skills that help them adapt to various fields in their studies or careers. For example, students studying a wide array of subjects can have a rudimentary knowledge of multiple areas, so they are not confined to a single study path. This promotes an all-rounded development of students as they are skilled in dissimilar fields of study.

On the other hand, prioritizing specific subjects can ensure that students have the opportunity to be expert in their chosen fields. When students identify their interests and preferred disciplines, they tend to dedicate substantial time to studying them. For instance, students aiming for careers in medicine should focus deeply on science-related subjects during high school. In contrast, attempting to study all subjects is overwhelming for learners; acquiring excessive knowledge can lead to anxiety, tiredness and stress. Instead of studying numerous disciplines, students can allocate their time to focus on their favorite one or engage in outside activities such as working part-time or enhancing interpersonal and communication skills.

In conclusion, I maintain the view that students can benefit more from paying attention to certain areas of knowledge in their high schools. Therefore, they should invest more time in the subjects they are passionate about to become proficient in them.