Why did you choose the proposed study program and institution?

Based on data from the Program for International Student Assessment (PISA), Indonesia is ranked 70 out of 78 countries. This data shows that the quality of education in Indonesia is far behind other countries in the world. This condition is exacerbated by the existence of a home learning policy during the Covid-19 pandemic which causes post-pandemic learning loss. In one year of learning, students experience an indication of learning loss equivalent to 6 months of learning (0.47 standard deviation) for literacy and 5 months of learning (0.44 standard deviation) for numeracy. To overcome post-pandemic learning loss, the Indonesian government has transformed the education ecosystem through diversity-based learning methods, but the application of this method has not been fully maximized. Teachers’ misconceptions towards the implementation of diversity-based learning is one of the main problems.

As an elementary school teacher, I have been directly involved in various government programs to restore post-pandemic learning, including active involvement in the google master trainer program and teacher programs in technology-based learning. To overcome the misconceptions of diversity-based learning, I developed the Great Teachers Community of the Archipelago in the Merdeka Mengajar platform. This platform is a means for teachers to share ideas and find solutions related to learning problems. This community allows me to share learning strategies and methods with other teachers in Indonesia. Through this community, I witnessed firsthand the differences in teachers’ understanding of the implementation of diversity-based learning in elementary schools.

To dispel misconceptions about diversity-based learning, I need a deeper understanding of strategies, media, and approaches that suit a variety of student learning styles. For this reason, I wanted to study in the Master of Teaching (Primary) program at Monash University. The diversity and inclusive education and teaching and learning and child development courses at Monash University allow me to study diversity at the primary school level. In these courses I was able to learn about how to explore different models and approaches designed to support the full participation of diverse learners. Joining the Monash Education & Teachers’ Association (META) community and being mentored directly by experts will greatly enhance my knowledge to support the transformation of learning in Indonesia, including in preparation for the 2045 golden generation.

Translated with DeepL.com (free version)