Why do people think about the past more than the future?

People think more about the past than the future is that a toxic trait or a way to cope nowadays?

One one side people stay in the past for many reasons, for example they have not accepted something that happened in the past, or they miss a person who is no longer in their life. In my opinion living in the past can be both beneficial and harmful for a human being, of course it depends onstage the reason you stay in a past moment. Many people I know go back to the already happened just to think how could they react differently in the situation. Others go back just to decrease their mood by raging over something they can not change either ways.

Going back can be harmful for you most of the time only because you lose time over things you are not capable of changing, or people they can not win back in their present life due to wrecks in their relationships or going different paths in life.

In conclusion, going into the past can be very useful for self improvement but it only depends on your choice and way of thinking, it can be very helpful to build up stronger personality traits and learn from your past mistakes. And if you go back just to lose time and vibes, than you have nothing interesting around to keep you in the present.