Why do some employers think qualifications are more important than experiences/characteristics? Positive/negative development?

It is thought that qualifications are the most prioritized measure for an employer. In this essay, I would provide reasons for this development and state my opinion that it is a negative trend.

On the one hand, the requirements of qualifications have risen significantly recently. Various intern works, volunteer activities or social projects provide certifications which can show other measures such as experiences or characteristics. The qualifications not only include the educational competence like they used to, therefore this trend becomes more and more popular. In Vietnam, many businesses require qualifications as the most important measure to be official employees. As a result, the thinking that qualifications are the top prioritized measure is popular in public.

On the other hand, various negative consequences could appear when individuals just place importance on qualifications. First and foremost, this trend may lead to a phenomenon that employees try to gain as much as qualifications instead of gaining real experiences or knowledge. Their preference would be quantity rather than quality, which can not ensure the abilities of employees. Another significant reason is the decrease in values of qualifications. This leads to the saturation of qualifications, which means people have to cultivate their own abilities, experiences or personality instead of depending on certifications or degrees.

In conclusion, although the importance of qualifications can not be denied, people have to cultivate their own abilities rather than prioritizing them. Therefore, considering qualifications as the most important measure is a negative trend and employees should balance them with others.