why do some people drift apart from their childhood friends ?

nowadays, approximately only one-third of people stay in touch with their childhood friends. i believe that it happens as a consequence of moving away and not protecting their boundaries when it was especially needed.

firstly, childhood friends may move to different schools or countries and experience significant changes of environment. as a result, they are exposed to new perspectives, gain new values and experiences. over time, this may lead to changes in their opinions, causing them to realize they no longer share the same worldview. it affects their common interest towards eachother and encourages them to choose different life paths

secondly, in such a young age, children can’t always stand for themselves. furthermore, they’re in a state of neither defend their boundaries nor talk over the problems that might appear between them and their peer. in the eyes of an immature kid, it’s easier to distance themselves from people who treated them badly instead of solving the possible misunderstandings.

to sum up, people may lose the contact with their childhood friends because they grow out of childhood friendships and gain new values as they grow up, because unresolved conflicts weaken their relationships