Why Kageyama's called 'King of the court' is more complex than a simple insult

Kageyama Tobio is one of important characters in anime called Haikyu!!. With Hinata Shoyo, who is his partner at Karasuno Men Volleyball Team, he perfectly sets the ball to Hinata for getting the score and the backbone for his team. His ability can excellently ensure the ball sets to other players according to the situation and other player’s style. Additionally, he is an INTJ, which is the MBTI that can detailly make the tactics and picture possibility based on the fact and possibility during the match. For instance, he adjusts the set’s style to Hinata because of lack of volleyball ability, so he can do quick attack even Hinata closes his eye and superbly sets the ball in synchronize attack. Because of that, he is called a prodigy from other people, thanks to his skilled in setting the ball.

The perfect skills of him, on the other hand, do not match between his proficiency and his personality. According to his experiences from he was kids until junior high school, his parents are focused on working, so the parent’s role does not exist for him. When he was young, he was taken care of his grandfather, who had introduced him volleyball, and practiced volleyball simultaneously from three years old. In addition, because he overly practices volleyball and his obsessed in volleyball, his interpersonal skill does not build up, so he barely has friends. By reason of that, his leadership style is like an authoritarian. He made his junior high school’s teammates to spike the ball perfectly, which is they cannot do it due to the speed of his sets. Furthermore, he has conflict between his upperclassmen, Oikawa Tooru due to his insecurity and the tense of competition between them. Given the tough situation, and relationships, he was called King of the court, which is the name was mocking him, not simply insult to him.

In conclusion, Kageyama Tobio is one of the best setters both the pre time skip and time skip. His skills can make sure setting the ball ideally based on the match style, especially during the match between Inarizaki and Karasuno. Thanks to his planning, Karasuno could win against Inarizaki. However, his personality is introverted so he hardly communicates to his teammates. But, thanks to Hinata Shoyo and Sugawara Koushi can accompany, teach how to communicate, and interact to others, and especially to Hinata Shoyo, he can be match in his setting style, he can be more communicate, his interpersonal skill can leverage up, and he can be himself. His development can upgrade his career until become a professional volleyball player.