Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it has become preferable for some students to take a gap year between high school and university, in order to work or travel. While this trend offers certain benefits, I argue that the demerits of taking a gap year are far stronger than its merits.

On the one hand, there are several advantages to this development, one of which is assistance with career orientation. Discovering interests and career path gives chances to try out different fields, making it more straightforward to choose future occupation that fits perfectly. Additionally, this trend can contribute to cultural enrichment, allowing students to explore: new cultures, people, and ways of life. Take students in the United States of America, for instance, as travel is the top option for them, they gain broadened intercultural horizons beyond standard curriculum due to travelling and living in various countries, which have rich history, appealing traditions, and famous attractions. Alternatively, university students mostly fail to achieve such personal development compared to those taking a gap year.

On the other hand, students who have taken a gap year can be interrupted from their educational path. For example, abrupted educational pathway, which can lead to difficulties with transition to a college, making it complicated and stressful getting back to a study mode. Furthermore, a career entry can be delayed by at least one year. Deferred a career starting point can negatively impact on future income and career growth, creating serious demands with joining the workforce. Without constant system of education and career, students would face comparisons with their age-mates who graduated earlier, which can cause a high competition of getting a job later.

In conclusion, although a gap year provides help with professional goals and deep understanding of cultures, it can result in problems with study adaptation and building career.