Question: Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it is a good idea for elderly people to continue working, if they have possibility to do so. I absolutely agree with this statement because by being employed, old people have their own money and it helps them to stay healthy and active as long as possible.

Admittedly, someone may argue that work is unnecessary for elderly people since they already worked for a long time and are needed only for a rest, due to their old age. However, the primary reason why I believe that it is a good idea for them to have a job, if they have a health and general opportunity to do so, is that they can stay independent from their children and government by receiving a salary. Having their own money and savings fosters a better lifestyle and a sense of confidence even in old age.

Another important reason is that working keeps elderly people healthy and happy. If they stay at home all day long, they inevitably start to feel bored and lonely. In contrast, when they work, they stay active, meet different people, and have a more fulfilling life. Additionally, they start to have a purpose in their life. This is good for both their physical and mental health.

In conclusion, benefits in the form of having their own money and staying healthy and active make the idea of old people to work undoubtedly beneficial. For this reason, I am convinced the idea of having old people work is good from all sides.