Question: Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that continuing to work in old age can be a positive choice, as long as it is feasible for individuals. I completely agree with this notion for the several reasons.

One of the main advantages of working in old age is that it allows them to stay active. Many retired individuals feel tedious without regular job or lonely. If they keep working in a company with full of employees, they are able to interact with their colleagues, which is essential for their communication skills and maintaining their mood positive, as well as it keeps them more social. This phenomenon not only bring benefits to their mental health, but also, it has a good impact on their physical well-being. By driving a delivery truck, gardening or doing office tasks, older adults can improve flexibility, build strength and feel independent. Another major merit of staying in the work is that financial security. In many countries, it is quite challenging to cover living expenses, healthcare or unexpected costs for pensions. Conversely, continuing to work gives them more opportunities to gain extra sources of income and reduce financial stress. Additionally, it allows them to support their families and even also save the money for future need. Therefore, staying in a job has advantages for both health and economic necessity.

On the other hand, there are also strong reasons why some people should retire. After years of working, many retired people wish to spare time for engaging in fascinating activities, such as spending time with family, traveling or taking up hobbies. Retirement provide the freedom to enjoy these activities without pressure or responsibility of a daily basis job. Furthermore, if older people remain in the workforce for a long period, this leads to reduce job prospects for the younger generation. Younger employees should gain new experiences and take responsibility for family economy. If older adults resign from their position, there are more chances for younger workers to establish themselves in a company.

In conclusion, although staying in the workplaces for long times restricts young employees’ opportunities. I firmly believe that it is more essential for being active and open-mind.