Some people believe that international sporting events are essential for fostering global understanding. Others think they are primarily commercial ventures that exploit athletes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With international sporting events increasingly indispensable in an interconnected world, some people argue that their greatest advantage is that they generate economic benefits. However, I side with those who believe that their role to the world is that it enhance relations between countries can yield more far-reaching benefits.

Granted, some people put forward valid arguments in favour of economic benefits of international sporting events, not least because they boost tourism,as tourists and spectators spend money on hotels and transport services, when they visit the host country. This, in turn, helps to improve the economy of the nation. Of greater importance is that they create new employment opportunities. Given that tourists require transport, safety and trade services during the event which create job opportunities for some people, Consequently, they provide jobs and reduce rate of unepmloyment. For instance, when organising sports events, government employs cleaners , security guards and ticket sellers.

Plausible as these arguments may seem, I believe that there are strong grounds for improving international cooperation between nations. To begin with, they bring people from different countries together, enabling them to share their experience and emotions. As a result, nations work effectively and strenthen economic and cultural connections. Furthermore, they strengthen connections between nations,since nations start to understand each other better. Therefore, between nations mutual trust and confidence can be improved.

To sum up, although sporting events bring economic benefits to nations, I still believe that their impoving ability nations relationships are of vital importance. Not only do they bring together people from different countries, but they also improve mutual trust and confidence.