Why would you like to study Artificial Intelligence and Data Science at Leiden University?

I am writing to express my profound interest in the Artificial Intelligence & Data Science department at Leiden University and my fervent desire to enroll in this prestigious institution. Allow me to provide you with insights into my background, perspectives, and future aspirations.

I live in Eskişehir, which is known as one of the youngest population and university cities in Turkey. My academic journey commenced at Karaman Private Babaoğlu Anatolian High School, where I successfully completed my high school education with a commendable average. Subsequently, After deciding to continue my education, I am currently studying at Eskişehir Technical University as a 1st year student in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

I have always been involved in sports throughout my life and I still continue this habit. In addition to my academic pursuits, my extensive involvement in sports, particularly basketball and archery, has significantly shaped my approach to teamwork, problem-solving, and critical thinking. Over 11 years of dedicated basketball participation, I not only honed my physical skills but also developed a deep understanding of the importance of collaboration, effective communication, and adaptability within a team setting. As a key member of my high school basketball team, I experienced firsthand the impact of strategic thinking and coordinated effort in achieving shared goals.. My transition to archery over the last 4 years further enriched my skill set, emphasizing precision, focus, and meticulous planning. In national and international competitions, representing my high school, I learned to navigate high-pressure situations, demonstrating resilience and maintaining composure to deliver optimal performance. The dynamic nature of sports has instilled in me the ability to analyze situations swiftly and make strategic decisions on the spot, skills that I believe are directly applicable to the fast-paced and evolving landscape of Artificial Intelligence and Data Science.

In addition to sports, I have a great interest in mathematics and computers, as can be seen from my major at university. In my first year after starting university, I completed the English preparatory class, which is compulsory for engineering students. During the English preparatory class, I had the opportunity to participate in the university project called ‘HIDROANA’, which was established by the students in order to improve myself in the field of engineering and to be prepared for the coming years.The main purpose of the HIDROANA project is to develop the most effective vehicles that run on clean energy by producing more efficient vehicles each year than the previous year. I worked in the mechanical department of the HIDROANA team for a year and in this process, with the help of my friends, I learned about car parts and assembly on programs such as AutoCAD. The HIDROANA team made a great contribution to my education life. In the first year of university, I had the chance to experience working as a team and communicating with people from different cultures, as well as

important issues such as doing projects with students, developing ideas and using science to benefit humanity.