Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that we should not protect different wild spicies because there is no necessity for their existance in today’s world. I totally disagree with this argument for some reasons.

First, Wild animals, directly or indirectly, play a key role in anyone’s life. The primary way would be that they have undeniable effects on the food chain by hunting other species, leading to a balance in the number different animals.For instance, snake, counting as a wild animal, tends to eat rats that their overpopulation in a farm can be a great threat to seeds and plants. The second way is that the overpopulation of their prey may cause the outbreak of transmitted diseases that can infect humans to the death. For example, the plague disease, a contagious disease trasmitted by rats, was one of the most detrimental diseases in the past. This outbreak was mitigated by using snakes to reduce the number of rats, reducing the rates of plague transmission. These benefits have essential effects on our health and food resources.

Second, I believe that conserving these animals is not a resource waste. In fact, by investing in protecting them, humans can ensure their existance on the earth on the future because if we lose any of them, we will face several issues related to our food or ecosystem. Besides, by allocating a moderate budget to preserving species, govenrnments can prevent a massive financial burdun in the future, arising from the shortage of food, the depletion of natural habitats and biodiversity, which are the consequences of wild animals extinction.

In conclusion, while some people consider that protecting wild animals is not efficient and vital in today’s world and they are no longer a part of our lives, I disagree with this claim due to their essential role in protecting humans and the whole ecosystem.