With an increasing number of people eating fast food, which if eating too regularly can cause health issues, some people think that the only solution is to ban it completely. To what extent do you agree?

Recently, more scholars have concluded that the increase in fast food consumption is detrimental to human health and banning this kind of food is the sole measure. Personally, I totally disagree with this perspective, and this essay explains my approach to the subject matter.

A fundamental argument against the opinion of banning fast food chains is mainly because of human freedom and autonomy. In fact, in the contemporary world, people inherently have the right to make their own decisions in their daily meals. Therefore, once the government gives law to forbid fast food entirely, controversy and suspicion may emerge among the press and society about the role of the government, whether they deliberately do it in order to greatly deny the primary value of humans or not. Moreover, another critical consideration is due to its severe impacts on the economy. It is evident that the fast food chain industry contributes enormous revenue to the worldwide economy. This means that the entire disappearance of fast food may result in a global economic recession owing to the unemployment of workers and the disappearance of numerous fast food companies. As a result, officials advocating for the prohibition of the fast food industry may not only put authorities at risk of being criticized by their residents but also carry serious threats to the whole economy.

Instead of restricting fast food, there are multiple approaches to combat the rising health issues in the number of individuals absorbing fast food. Governments should provide citizens with helpful education about the risk of eating fast food. Through health awareness campaigns, people not only have a clear understanding about health deterioration, such as heart diseases, obesity, etc., when consuming junk food consistently. Additionally, it is also a terrific solution to force the fast food suppliers to manufacture products with clear nutrient labeling. By doing that, people could have the ability to make sensible choices towards healthy food due to their thorough understanding of the amount of calorie intakes and the input of multiple preservatives in fast food. Besides, governments can simultaneously implement heavy taxes on fast food products to discourage human consumption. All of these measures can prevent individuals from consuming unhealthy food without the necessity of an entire prohibition.

In conclusion, although excessive fast food consumption can destroy human health, it is not appropriate to ban them completely owing to the opposition from residents and the negative influence on the economy. Through educational activities and tax regulation on fast food, the problem can be tackled efficiently.