With growing populations in cities, many people are living in small homes that do not do not have adequate outdoor spaces. Is this a positive or negative development?

The small house has become increasingly popular among cities in recent years. While there are several benefits, I strongly believe that the drawbacks are greater.

On the one hand, living in a small home can be highly beneficial for some reasons. One of the key advantages is that residents can easily afford a house that has small areas. For instance, Ha Noi has various tiny houses in the alley with more reasonable prices than in the main street. It leads to more citizens can have their own house while saving money for unpredictable occasions in the future. As a result, it allows more people to live in cities.

On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of this phenomenon pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Firstly, lacking outdoor space in a house may reduce the physical activity of the owners, leading to both physical and mental issues. For instance, in some dense places, people have limited access to nature and fresh air, which can directly affect on the health and also increase anxiety and stress. In contrast, in the countryside, people have more chances and conditions to exercise. Secondly, high-density living can lead to pollution, which is easily a concern in some big cities nowadays. Consequently, more and more citizens have breathing issues because of the fumes from factories, transport, and the lack of trees.

In conclusion, despite some benefits that living in a house with no adequate spaces has, I subscribe to the idea that there are far outweigh the potential problems.