With the coming-of-age technological advancements, tourism has been booming lately, leading to English becoming the most renowned language in the world. Many believe that this will result in English becoming the only language conversed worldwide. This essay will highlight the pros and cons of the given topic.

On one hand, having a single language medium to communicate in would certainly prove advantageous, as there would be less confusion during communication. No problems would be caused by a language barrier, and even commerce and trade would become easier. The prime benefit of having English as the prominent language would be that traveling would be very convenient. Tourists would not be required to rack their brains while asking for something as rudimentary as directions.

However, like a coin with two sides, there are some disadvantages to this statement. Firstly, this would result in the uprooting of many cultures to make English the leading language globally. The world consists of only a few English-speaking countries. The rest have many tongues in which so much literature and art are composed. By globalizing only one language, countless forms of art and other noteworthy works would be wiped out, such as poems, plays, stories, folklore, and so on. This also results in the dying out of cultures, traditions, and heritage.

Secondly, the tourism industry would collapse. One of the main joys of traveling is to witness new customs and meet different people. Any exciting journey would seem monotonous and bland if the local language is no longer spoken. The fall of tourism would tumble the economy and pause the development of a nation.

To conclude, having one language would definitely aid understanding and trade, while too much would be lost in the process. Maintaining local languages and customs will ensure a rich heritage and prosperous future generations.