With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

How can the internet harm youngsters and, more precisely, place them in hazardous situations? Social media has never been a safe place to begin with; however, legal guardians allow unsupervised access to the web for their children without any considerations. Undoubtedly, these further actions lead to problems such as stalking, catfishing, blackmailing, and many more. In order to execute the potential threats, parents should limit screen time; additionally, they must keep an eye on their children’s conversations as well.

To begin with, nowadays, online relationships have become more and more popular among new generations. Subsequently, youngsters run accounts on dating apps and bond with people behind the screen. While this may appear as a wonderful way to form relationships, children can be victims of blackmailing, stalking, catfishing, etc. Furthermore, youngsters can be dragged into the internet’s rabbit hole and become addicted to online apps. For instance, tragically, children on the internet are being cyberbullied and body shamed, all owing to the toxic environment of social media.

Fortunately, there are numerous solutions that should be implemented to deal with dangerous situations created online. First and foremost, legal guardians are entitled to limit the screen time on their children’s devices. By the same token, parents can check their chats, messages, and ongoing conversations with strangers, all to ensure the safety of their kids. To demonstrate, supervised access fosters trust between the adult and the youngster, since, under the parent’s supervision, potentially dangerous conditions are severely limited.

To conclude, the problems demonstrated above clearly show the significance of the threatening circumstances caused by unsupervised access to the internet. Nevertheless, the solutions provide logical suggestions to protect youngsters from the toxic environment of social media.