With the increasing influence of artificial intelligence, do you believe that machines will eventually replace human jobs completely? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Society is at the cusp of a new technological era, through the use of artificial intelligence. The effect of intelligent machines on society is rising and they have impacted the way we live and work. Moreover, there is the concern that job tasks will soon substitute workers. This essay seeks to disagree with this subject matter to a limited extent, however, both sides of the coin will be argued.

On one hand, artificial intelligence has already begun displacing workers in a number of positions. Its transformative technology seeks to advance efficiency and reduce wastage. The work of the machines is very repetitive and routine in nature. Therefore, jobs that falls in the manufacturing sector, data entry and customer service fall prey to artificial intelligence and can be easily substituted. Robots can input, compile, sort and analyze data more quickly and accurately than humans. Consequently, intelligence systems can reduce the number of employees operating in a particular field of work allowing them to focus on more complex tasks.

On the other hand, artificial intelligence will not completely eradicate all job positions. Robots are made by mankind, so even though they may appear to have some human qualities such as reasoning, understanding and translating, people are still required to control and manage these robotic devices. Intelligent machines face many limitations. These machines are unable to multitask. They can only do what they were programmed to do through different routines. They cannot make moral judgments nor explain their decisions. In this instance, people are still required to do the tasks that machines are unable to do.

In conclusion, artificial intelligence is a rapidly evolving field. There are instances where smart devices and machines will usurp human capital but to a limited extent. However, not all jobs will be displaced by intelligent machines due to number of limitations they possession.