With the increasing popularity of online education, some universities are considering abolishing traditional in-person classes altogether. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the potential consequences for students and the wider academic community?

Online learning has become increasingly popular in recent years, offering new opportunities for students and institutions. While it presents several advantages and disadvantages, I believe it is likely to play a significant role in the future of higher education, though it may not fully replace traditional methods.

There’s a lot of advantages in online learning. For example, in some cases children have been feeling anxious in traditional schools, and because of this feeling it has led to students not giving their best effort in class. In online learning you eliminate the anxiety that may come from other children, social factors, etc. Another significant aspect of online learning is the simplicity it can offer. It’s far easier for children to focus on their computer in some cases without having any distractions from their classmates and peers. In addition to these points, arguably the best thing that comes from attending schools is the children’s safety. In their respective homes children are safer than in public schools. In the United States of America, there have been multiple cases of safety breaches and violations in schools.

There are also disadvantages to this approach. For example, if you get rid of traditional schools you are not allowing children a chance to get to socialise with their friends. Some of the best friendships start from playing at the school playground or in physical education. It would be a shame to take that away from them. Another negative thing is that in some cases children don’t get stimulated at home with their homework or homeschooling. Sometimes they are academically ahead of their classmates, but get held back because you can’t personally teach when you’re online learning. That part of teaching is maybe the most valuable part of learning in young children.

In conclusion, I partly agree that it is beneficial for online learning. But I also thoroughly believe that there are somethings that cannot be replaced in traditional education.